Voltreffer

Some years ago, I attended a dinner at Princeton University where I witnessed a revealing exchange between an eminent European philosopher who was visiting from Cambridge, and a Muslim scholar who was seated next to him. The Muslim colleague was indulging in a glass of wine. Evidently troubled by this, the distinguished don eventually asked his dining companion if he might be so bold as to venture a personal question. ‘Do you consider yourself a Muslim?’ ‘Yes,’ came the reply. ‘How come, then, you are drinking wine?’ The Muslim colleague smiled gently. ‘My family have been Muslims for a thousand years,’ he said, ‘during which time we have always been drinking wine.’ An expression of distress appeared on the learned logician’s pale countenance, prompting the further clarification: ‘You see, we are Muslim wine-drinkers.’ The questioner looked bewildered. ‘I don’t understand,’ he said. ‘Yes, I know,’ replied his native informant, ‘but I do.’

De eerste alinea in het eerste hoofdstuk van: Ahmed, S. What is Islam?  Princeton University Press, 2016.

Dit bericht werd geplaatst in Religie en getagged met , . Maak dit favoriet permalink.

4 reacties op Voltreffer

  1. Ellen Wendel zegt:

    Wat jammer dat zulke verstandige/wijze moslims zich niet vaker laten horen.

    • Stephan zegt:

      In Cordoba vroeg ik aan een moslim die al zijn derde pint bier aan het leegdrinken was of hij nu niet de duivel in zijn hand vasthield – de man zei – ik heb de geschriften van de drie grote godsdiensten bestudeerd en in geen van allen heb ik iets gevonden die mij konden overtuigen – ik volg enkel de God in mijn hart – en enkel die God zal mij vertellen wanneer ik iets mis doe en wat ik mag en niet mag doen – dat was een zeer wijze man.

  2. mnb0 zegt:

    De alcoholdrinkende moslims die ik ken stellen dat men er voor moet waken zoveel te drinken dat men de controle verliest. Gegeven het verschijnsel comazuipen en ondanks het feit dat ik mij zelf een enkele keer lam het gezopen valt daar veel voor te zeggen.

  3. Pingback: Tapijtbombardementje? | Apoftegma

Geef een reactie

